• Professor Roy Foster

    Chair of the Judges

    Roy Foster, Chair of the Judges, is Emeritus Professor of Irish History at Oxford and Professor of Irish History and Literature at Queen Mary University of London. He has written biographies of Charles Stewart Parnell, Lord Randolph Churchill and W.B.Yeats, as well as several other books, most recently Vivid Faces: the revolutionary generation in Ireland which won a British Academy Medal and the Forkosch Prize from the American Historical Association.

    Roy Foster
  • Flora Fraser

    Chair of the Prize; granddaughter of Elizabeth Longford

    Flora Fraser, Chair of the Prize, is the author of five historical biographies, including Beloved Emma: The Life of Emma, Lady Hamilton (1986) and George & Martha Washington: A Revolutionary Marriage (2015), which won the 2016 George Washington Book Prize.

    Flora Fraser
  • Lady Antonia Fraser

    Chair Emeritus of the Prize; daughter of Elizabeth Longford

    Lady Antonia Fraser, CH, DBE, has written many historical biographies, beginning with Mary Queen of Scots in 1969; they include Oliver Cromwell and Marie Antoinette: the Journey. She has also written works of history: among them The Gunpowder Plot and The Weaker Vessel which won the Wolfson Prize.

    Antonia Fraser
  • Richard Davenport-Hines

    Historian and biographer

    Richard Davenport-Hines, a former Visiting Fellow at All Souls College, Oxford, has written biographies of W. H. Auden, Marcel Proust, John Maynard Keynes, Lady Desborough and King Edward VII.

    Richard Davenport Hines
  • Professor Munro Price

    Professor of Modern European History, Bradford University

    Munro Price is Professor of Modern European History at Bradford University, and a specialist in French and European history in the revolutionary and Napoleonic eras. Among his books are The Fall of the French Monarchy, (winner of the Franco-British Society Literary Prize for 2002), The Perilous Crown: France 1814-1848 (2007), and Napoleon: the End of Glory (2014).

    Munro Price